Canada’s NDP » Newsroom http://www.ndp.ca/rss.xml en NDP Statement on the occasion of Yom Kippur http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-occasion-yom-kippur-0   Tue, 18 Sep 2018 14:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 0ee9fd3d-9418-4b77-8f95-a0b57bbb35cd Federal Government Must Honour its Commitments to Canada’s Vulnerable Children http://www.ndp.ca/news/federal-government-must-honour-its-commitments-canadas-vulnerable-children OTTAWA – Today NDP MP Peter Julian (New Westminster-Burnaby) and Ms. Shawn Bayes, Executive Director of the Elizabeth Fry Society of Greater Vancouver, called on the Government of Canada to uphold its responsibility as signatory of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child to ensure children across the country have equal access to federally funded financial benefits and supportive programs and services. Current eligibility rules and regional variations in service delivery result in some of Canada’s most vulnerable and poorest children being further materially deprived and marginalized. Tue, 18 Sep 2018 11:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 19f814c8-ef77-4d29-a6eb-ebfb64a80360 NDP Calls on Liberals to Help Kashechewan Kids by Finally Ending the Funding Gap for Indigenous Children http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-liberals-help-kashechewan-kids-finally-ending-funding-gap-indigenous-children OTTAWA – OTTAWA – While children across the country went back to school, 400 elementary students in Kashechewan, Ontario missed their first two weeks of classes. The First Nation of Kashechewan called a state of emergency over their portable classrooms having black mould and structurally unsound foundations, making opening doors and windows dangerously difficult. Mon, 17 Sep 2018 10:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq a8aeb475-cdb8-49e7-9825-d4b442c2b7c9 Jagmeet Singh Says the NDP Will be Fighting for Real People, Highlights Indigenous Education, Trade Deals and Housing for New Session http://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-says-ndp-will-be-fighting-real-people-highlights-indigenous-education-trade-deals OTTAWA – The NDP is kicking off the fall session of Parliament united in their determination to fight for solutions that will improve the lives of real people struggling because the Liberals have failed to deliver on their promises. NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh used examples while talking about education for Indigenous children, the housing crisis and the impact of bad trade deals. Mon, 17 Sep 2018 10:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3c713e13-3dbb-4e3a-8afc-d5acbb285c96 NDP Statement on International Day of Democracy http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-international-day-democracy Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Sat, 15 Sep 2018 08:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 5173fa02-8b33-4520-957d-7e994cdbab07 NDP Statement on OECD Review: Canada Must Do Its Part http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-oecd-review-canada-must-do-its-part Linda Duncan, the NDP Critic for International Development released the following statement: Fri, 14 Sep 2018 14:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 67618cb7-488f-469d-86ee-20d932544e48 NDP caucus determined to fight for what Canadians need http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-caucus-determined-fight-what-canadians-need Members of the NDP caucus emerged from a three-day retreat Thursday saying they were more determined than ever to fight hard for the change Canadians need to make life more affordable. Thu, 13 Sep 2018 19:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1b12b0fb-90e8-4b7a-a1f6-c238b9c43e95 NDP Calls for Emergency Meeting, Expert Input on Ford's Reckless Use of Notwithstanding Clause http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-emergency-meeting-expert-input-fords-reckless-use-notwithstanding-clause The following statement was issued by Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada's NDP: Thu, 13 Sep 2018 12:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq a0f3da25-f60c-4767-8504-0734832127d6 Majority of Canada's Richest Donate to the Liberals http://www.ndp.ca/news/majority-canadas-richest-donate-liberals SURREY - Information available on Liberal donors may help to explain the Liberal government's reluctance to close tax loopholes, tighten rules on offshore tax havens and deliver better services Canadians need now, says the NDP. Tue, 11 Sep 2018 13:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 44304e73-f4fc-4307-bf46-632f71edfbef NDP Statement on Nayrouz http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-nayrouz Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Tue, 11 Sep 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 48f05dd4-e0f1-44c0-9c1f-82799789185c NDP Statement on the anniversary of 9/11 and the National Day of Service http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-anniversary-911-and-national-day-service Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Tue, 11 Sep 2018 08:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 09171e0f-54e6-42ae-81f5-a0d454ed1d5b NDP Statement on Firefighters’ National Memorial Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-firefighters-national-memorial-day   Sun, 09 Sep 2018 20:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9c019b33-787e-4d6c-a83c-6148bb33f5f4 NDP Statement on Rosh Hashanah http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-rosh-hashanah Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Sun, 09 Sep 2018 08:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq bc92fe37-69f7-4602-818e-7a75a36d5536 NDP Calls for Study on Duty to Consult Indigenous Peoples http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-study-duty-consult-indigenous-peoples OTTAWA – On Friday, the Standing Committee on Indigenous and Northern Affairs will debate an NDP motion to help fix the Liberals' flawed consultation process with First Nations on the Trans Mountain Pipeline expansion, which the Federal Court of Appeal ruled insufficient. Fri, 07 Sep 2018 09:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq d7482c1c-bd80-46fc-91fa-7585aec134d5 NDP Calls on Government to Cancel Expansion of Trans Mountain Pipeline http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-government-cancel-expansion-trans-mountain-pipeline OTTAWA – On Monday, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh called on the Liberal government to cancel the expansion of the Trans Mountain pipeline project, overhaul the review process for energy projects, and invest in clean energy jobs for the future. Tue, 04 Sep 2018 13:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 8fa4b08e-fb5e-410a-a8fa-cc50311a793a Canada’s NDP: Working for Main Street, not Bay Street. http://www.ndp.ca/news/canadas-ndp-working-main-street-not-bay-street Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 03 Sep 2018 08:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq c8b5f41a-e32a-49b4-b408-0e528e42fbd2 NDP Statement on International Overdose Awareness Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-international-overdose-awareness-day   Fri, 31 Aug 2018 20:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq d2c101a9-9f09-4165-a95c-31601132cb57 NDP statement on International Day of the Victims of Enforced Disappearances http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-international-day-victims-enforced-disappearances Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 30 Aug 2018 20:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 708e0287-3dfe-43b1-8e20-bc77b39b298b NDP Statement on the Federal Court of Appeal Ruling on the Trans Mountain Pipeline  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-federal-court-appeal-ruling-trans-mountain-pipeline NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh issued the following statement: Thu, 30 Aug 2018 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq aa8da1c4-27a3-4df7-97d7-668363972b1e NDP Statement on the International Day against Nuclear Tests http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-international-day-against-nuclear-tests   Wed, 29 Aug 2018 18:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1c0fab62-a1ed-4858-8f44-5c151ce1f74c Protect Our Culture and End Special Treatment for Web Giants http://www.ndp.ca/news/protect-our-culture-and-end-special-treatment-web-giants MONTREAL – Today, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh and the NDP’s Quebec Caucus, showed once again they were listening to people in Quebec and announced the introduction of a campaign to put pressure on the Liberal government, so that once and for all, Justin Trudeau ends the preferential treatment that web giants receive. Tue, 28 Aug 2018 16:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 6f83e989-f83d-4476-91ad-ef382cc331fc NDP Statement on the U.S.–Mexico Trade Agreement http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-us-mexico-trade-agreement Tracey Ramsey, NDP International Trade Critic, issued the following statement: Mon, 27 Aug 2018 20:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 2996faf1-f93a-413f-adf8-09d2302ea31f NDP statement on Ukrainian Independence Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-ukrainian-independence-day   Fri, 24 Aug 2018 19:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 7d46797f-2274-4aa7-8f2a-be355fcd11f2 NDP: US Duties on Welded Pipes are yet Another Hit to Canadian Industry  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-us-duties-welded-pipes-are-yet-another-hit-canadian-industry While Canadians grapple with economic uncertainty caused by Trump’s erratic trade policy, the U.S. Department of Commerce announced yet another attack on Canadian industry by implementing anti-dumping duties on large-diameter welded pipe. Several Canadian companies, including a Regina-based steel producer already reeling from Trump’s outrageous tariffs, will take a hit when these duties take effect next week. Fri, 24 Aug 2018 11:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq dc48b041-6863-4928-bfd5-a46d82c064dd NDP Statement on the International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-international-day-remembrance-slave-trade-and-its-abolition Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 23 Aug 2018 13:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 41569804-e9ad-4971-9337-055e5633cf48 NDP Statement on Black Ribbon Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-black-ribbon-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 23 Aug 2018 12:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 6677491e-c27d-4894-963b-3deda767e247 NDP: Canadians deserve better than the Liberal’s poverty reduction strategy http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-canadians-deserve-better-liberals-poverty-reduction-strategy The Liberal government’s ‘Opportunity for All’ poverty reduction strategy lacks serious ambition according to the NDP. Despite vowing to lift 2.1 million people out of poverty by 2030, the Liberals failed to introduce any new spending commitments or programs, instead only relying on existing programs. Tue, 21 Aug 2018 14:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 40bff729-7497-4d7e-9557-75387689a451 NDP Statement on Eid al-Adha http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-eid-al-adha Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Tue, 21 Aug 2018 08:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4980d8cd-89ab-44d2-9d05-80488499891a Liberals doing too little, too late with pilot project on Employment Insurance http://www.ndp.ca/news/liberals-doing-too-little-too-late-pilot-project-employment-insurance OTTAWA – The Liberal government is doing too little, too late with half-measures for seasonal industry workers in Canada. The liberals have pledged to solve the infamous issue of the “black hole” for all workers, but have once again refused to comprehensively reform Employment Insurance. Mon, 20 Aug 2018 17:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq ba6a252a-cfca-4722-84f4-14ad9f8e2cc3 NDP statement on World Humanitarian Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-humanitarian-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Sun, 19 Aug 2018 08:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq aa6514c1-9f7c-4ac9-b163-fbf98b6a3195