Canada’s NDP » Newsroom https://www.ndp.ca/rss.xml en NDP Statement at the Start of Small Business Week https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-start-small-business-week Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 15 Oct 2018 18:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f9361ab3-96c8-4b83-9712-5e92f2a59c0c NDP Pushes for Emergency Debate Following Catastrophic Climate Change Report https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-pushes-emergency-debate-following-catastrophic-climate-change-report OTTAWA – On Monday, the New Democratic Party requested an emergency debate in the House of Commons in the wake of the devastating report from the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Mon, 15 Oct 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 2ac877b3-9710-4ae2-a576-e70bd32dc93e NDP commits to defending Quebeckers interests in free trade agreements https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-commits-defending-quebeckers-interests-free-trade-agreements On Saturday afternoon, at the federal NDP’s Quebec section convention, members voted in favour of an emergency resolution condemning the Liberals for the sacrifices made on the back of Quebec in the renegotiation of NAFTA. Sun, 14 Oct 2018 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 507f9a6e-b077-47d0-850c-103e4e9cbf0d Jagmeet Singh pledges to invest in Quebec clean energy https://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-pledges-invest-quebec-clean-energy TROIS-RIVIÈRES – In a speech to NDP supporters assembled for the federal party's Quebec Section Convention in Trois-Rivières on Saturday, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh stated that environment will be a core element of the NDP platform in 2019. Singh pledged that an NDP government will invest to help Quebec become a world leader in the electrification of transportation and create a fund to help cities build clean energy projects. Sat, 13 Oct 2018 14:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f40b4a57-cca7-4c46-af21-67c8a743343b NDP Reaction to Supreme Court Decision on Indigenous Rights  https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-reaction-supreme-court-decision-indigenous-rights The NDP Reconciliation Critic, Romeo Saganash, issued the following statement: Fri, 12 Oct 2018 09:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1f42de9e-4d5b-44ac-864b-185a72f15cf6 NDP Statement on World Mental Health Day https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-mental-health-day   Wed, 10 Oct 2018 19:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b4359eef-5d7d-48f5-9d8f-2e684e7512f4 Jagmeet Singh Blasts Federal Inaction on Housing Crisis, Calls for Faster Spending on Co-Ops and Non-Profits https://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-blasts-federal-inaction-housing-crisis BURNABY – NDP Leader, Jagmeet Singh, slammed Conservative and Liberal governments for helping to create the housing crisis in Greater Vancouver, and urged Justin Trudeau to immediately help build new co-op and non-profit housing units. Tue, 09 Oct 2018 17:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 10b1ad97-509d-4991-bbec-f8b9d4d9d715 NDP Statement on Navratri https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-navratri Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Tue, 09 Oct 2018 08:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9e6e9d66-ed47-46ee-a22e-89d1aa1a310c IPCC report: Liberals must act, it's urgent! https://www.ndp.ca/news/ipcc-report-liberals-must-act-its-urgent NDP Environment Critic Alexandre Boulerice made the following statement:  Mon, 08 Oct 2018 12:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq c544e6a0-e9ce-4e6c-a9e8-41b4760736ad Happy Thanksgiving! https://www.ndp.ca/news/happy-thanksgiving Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 08 Oct 2018 09:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq d66a3057-ef2c-4fef-a382-88785b3ff8a5 NDP Statement on World Teachers Day https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-teachers-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Fri, 05 Oct 2018 18:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq fcbec80a-6853-4e13-a34d-a778408c2dfa The NDP Stands in Solidarity with Nobel Peace Prize Winners Dr. Mukwege and Nadia Murad https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-stands-solidarity-nobel-peace-prize-winners-dr-mukwege-and-nadia-murad Hélène Laverdière, NDP Critic for Foreign Affairs, made the following statement: Fri, 05 Oct 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 7b1196c5-4cdb-47ac-ae74-3a5676f778c4 NDP to Table Amnesty Bill on Past Pot Possessions https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-table-amnesty-bill-past-pot-possessions OTTAWA – With just two weeks until the use of cannabis is legalized in Canada, too many people with criminal records for simple possession still face real hardships that affect their job opportunities, their ability to travel, and as a result, their livelihood. NDP Justice Critic Murray Rankin will table a ground-breaking Bill that would immediately expunge these simple possession records for all Canadians. Wed, 03 Oct 2018 13:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq a7fdc943-c288-4d52-91f7-e63c0e9d17fd NDP Statement on CRTC Broadband Fund https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-crtc-broadband-fund NDP Innovation, Science and Economic Development Critic, Brian Masse (Windsor West), made the following statement in response to the CRTC announcement this past week detailing their Broadband Fund: Wed, 03 Oct 2018 12:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq d48b3fc2-90a0-4da6-bf80-e55711fc1c99 Liberals Vote Against Immediate Action on Housing Crisis https://www.ndp.ca/news/liberals-vote-against-immediate-action-housing-crisis OTTAWA – As Canada faces an unprecedented housing crisis throughout the country, the Liberal government voted against a motion that would bring immediate action to address it. Canadians throughout the country are faced with exploding house prices, rising rents, rental housing shortages, long waitlists for non-market housing and increasing homelessness. They cannot afford to wait until after the next election for this crisis to be solved. Tue, 02 Oct 2018 15:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq fee592a0-fc25-4f48-bde7-3c510e931a62 Environment Commissioner Tears into Liberals Again https://www.ndp.ca/news/environment-commissioner-tears-liberals-again On Tuesday, the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development has once again tore into the Liberal government. Her fall reports show that the Liberals are not doing enough to protect Canadians and marine mammals. Among other things, she criticized the government for its inability to measure whether or not its own goals have been reached, especially in terms of toxic chemicals. Tue, 02 Oct 2018 15:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4ac3d5cc-0397-42e4-a63d-6d1e52a037a7 NDP Statement for Women’s History Month   https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-womens-history-month   Mon, 01 Oct 2018 15:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e29dc3bd-66e5-4702-87d1-9732156a5276 NDP: Trade with U.S. and Mexico – New Name, Worse Deal https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-trade-us-and-mexico-new-name-worse-deal In response to the new trade deal with the United States and Mexico, USMCA, the Leader of the NDP, Jagmeet Singh, and the NDP’s Trade and Deputy Trade Critics, Tracey Ramsey and Karine Trudel, made the following statement: Mon, 01 Oct 2018 12:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 47837fbd-ea1e-4d55-803a-0b4b42bb9be4 NDP Statement on National Seniors Day https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-seniors-day-0 NDP Critic for Seniors, Rachel Blaney (North Island--Powell River), made the following statement to mark National Seniors Day: Mon, 01 Oct 2018 10:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4bc5aa96-8c4c-458d-b2ac-28170c14b3c0 Statement by Jagmeet Singh on National Seniors Day https://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-jagmeet-singh-national-seniors-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 01 Oct 2018 08:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3ff09b39-d99a-4938-bf21-aaaa911b85a8 NDP Statement on National Indigenous Peoples Day Bill https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-indigenous-peoples-day-bill NDP Critic for Indigenous Services, Georgina Jolibois (Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River), made the following statement on the passage of her Private Member’s Bill C-369 today in the House of Commons. The Bill will now proceed to committee. Wed, 26 Sep 2018 19:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 47ec5abf-76fc-4d6a-88d4-e04bf9d027af NDP Tables Bill to Protect Nuclear Workers' Pensions https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-tables-bill-protect-nuclear-workers-pensions NDP MP Daniel Blaikie alongside representatives of the Canadian Alliance of Nuclear Workers, is taking action to protect the pensions of employees at the Canada Nuclear Laboratories Wed, 26 Sep 2018 11:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1c6f41b9-aaf3-4a10-91bb-8aef23ade7c2 NDP Statement on World Contraception Day https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-contraception-day NDP MP Irene Mathyssen (London-Fanshawe) made the following statement on World Contraception Day: Wed, 26 Sep 2018 11:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 8f4b8f17-72aa-4231-b9df-67d58ab45e96 NDP Calls on Liberals to Disavow Trump’s Retreat from Multilateralism https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-liberals-disavow-trumps-retreat-multilateralism Hélène Laverdière, NDP Foreign Affairs Critic, issued the following statement :  Tue, 25 Sep 2018 18:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b799749a-93a4-4b84-8b7d-309327864e74 Jagmeet Singh and Charlie Angus commit to bring justice for Grassy Narrows https://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-and-charlie-angus-pledge-justice-grassy-narrows KENORA - On Monday, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh joined NDP Critic for Indigenous Youth, Charlie Angus, in Grassy Narrows First Nation, where they heard first-hand about the impact of mercury contamination in their water.   A mill upstream in Dryden dumped mercury into the English-Wabigoon River in the 1960s and early 1970s. The contamination forced the closure of a commercial fishery, devastating the community's economy. Fifty years later the residents in the community can't drink the water or eat fish caught in the river system, and many are dealing with the complications of mercury poisoning. Tue, 25 Sep 2018 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 34dc7b01-186b-4066-a2ec-847939736729 NDP: Liberals Must Match Feminist Rhetoric With Action for Women’s Equality https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-liberals-must-match-feminist-rhetoric-action-womens-equality While Canada marks Gender Equality Week, women continue to bear the brunt of decades of successive Liberal and Conservative government failures to invest in the systematic problems that undermine gender equality. Women would have more to celebrate if the Liberals actually got to work and fixed the fundamental inequality that remains all too prevalent in the lives of those who identify as women, with many of these challenges faced more deeply by senior, racialized, and Indigenous women. Tue, 25 Sep 2018 12:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e78fc192-cc29-4de8-ad3f-d2f31d83b5b8 NDP Statement on Gender Equality Week   https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-gender-equality-week Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 24 Sep 2018 21:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq bf848184-1306-4604-b89e-c0f1afe86096 Jagmeet Singh met with Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler of the Nishnawbe Aski Nation https://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-met-grand-chief-alvin-fiddler-nishnawbe-aski-nation THUNDER BAY - Today, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh, along with Charlie Angus, NDP MP for Timmins-James Bay, met with Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler of the Nishnawbe Aski Nation representing 49 First Nations in Northern Ontario. Sun, 23 Sep 2018 13:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq dd9b769a-56fa-4916-914b-2bc3d57ef771 NDP Statement on International Day of Peace https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-international-day-peace Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Fri, 21 Sep 2018 18:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 6e5be257-144f-4abb-a877-3136f447d864 NDP Statement on Armenia’s Anniversary of Independence https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-armenias-anniversary-independence Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Fri, 21 Sep 2018 15:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 40740d60-78f4-44ea-8795-33b37e49703c