Canada’s NDP » Newsroom https://www.ndp.ca/rss.xml en Official NDP Statement https://www.ndp.ca/news/official-ndp-statement-re-morneau-shepell The NDP has release the following official statement: Fri, 15 Nov 2019 09:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq a4c05bb1-c882-4287-8864-c66eb04a52b4 CF-18 Replacements: Liberal Ministers Will Be Held Accountable https://www.ndp.ca/news/cf-18-replacements-liberal-ministers-will-be-held-accountable OTTAWA – Regardless of which company wins the CF-18 fighter replacement contract, Trudeau’s Liberal government must make sure there are job guarantees for aerospace workers here in Canada and strong economic benefits for the Canadian public, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh said at a press conference today with NDP Deputy Leader Alexandre Boulerice and Yvon Paiement from the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW). Wed, 13 Nov 2019 13:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 43d6dd00-10ac-4b19-ba73-11102975fb90 Statement on the 550th Celebration of Gurpurab of Guru Nanak Sahib Ji https://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-550th-celebration-gurpurab-guru-nanak-sahib-ji A statement by Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada's NDP: Tue, 12 Nov 2019 09:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b751e85f-3bd6-4e7a-b788-39b0cd79a317 NDP Statement on Remembrance Day https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-remembrance-day-2 Today we honour the sacrifices made by Canadians who fought in service of our country overseas and here at home. Mon, 11 Nov 2019 08:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq fe37a339-7003-4639-b096-bc0d3e1c3e52 NDP Statement on the Remembrance of the 1984 Sikh Genocide https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-remembrance-1984-sikh-genocide Today, the NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Fri, 01 Nov 2019 17:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 5c75e1b4-04cb-4514-afc0-b1efd6b6cc58 NDP Calls on Trudeau to Deliver Treatment Centre for Grassy Narrows https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-trudeau-deliver-treatment-centre-grassy-narrows NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Mon, 28 Oct 2019 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3a355f12-62d7-4d93-b0be-aa6d0078ff6f NDP Statement on B.C. Tabling Historic Bill to Implement the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-bc-tabling-historic-bill-implement-un-declaration-rights-indigenous-peoples NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Thu, 24 Oct 2019 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f8531751-aefb-4c73-89a4-12dfaf67b61f NDP Statement Following Call with Alberta NDP Leader Rachel Notley https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-following-call-alberta-ndp-leader-rachel-notley NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh released the following statement: Thu, 24 Oct 2019 10:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f34fcd16-fd45-4c35-860f-dcdf8b94d03c Statement from NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh on an Inspiring Campaign  https://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-ndp-leader-jagmeet-singh-inspiring-campaign NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Mon, 21 Oct 2019 23:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 047e6cc5-d495-4b11-b756-209dc7c86de6 Fact Check: Andrew Scheer’s Lies  https://www.ndp.ca/news/fact-check-andrew-scheers-lies Trying to keep up with the stuff Andrew Scheer is making up is exhausting. It’s way easier to just list the things he said today that are actually true:   Sat, 19 Oct 2019 17:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq bd54509e-97c4-440d-8137-e93489ba7eae Fact Check: Justin Trudeau’s Dodged Questions  https://www.ndp.ca/news/fact-check-justin-trudeaus-dodged-questions It’s impossible to keep track of how many direct questions from reporters that Justin Trudeau has dodged. It’s simpler to just list the straight answers he gave today:  Sat, 19 Oct 2019 16:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 7f682d12-3fdf-4d15-8c7e-6a62ceb88567 Statement on the Hunger Strike in Kanesatake https://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-hunger-strike-kanesatake Statement by NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh following his phone conversation with Ellen Gabriel of the Mohawk community of Kanesatake: Sat, 19 Oct 2019 11:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b7bb6b7a-51d0-4839-8359-f15e7954b7d9 NDP Demands Elections Canada Ensure First Nations Evacuees' Right to Vote  https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-demands-elections-canada-ensure-first-nations-evacuees-right-vote THE PAS - NDP candidate and incumbent Niki Ashton (Churchill--Keewatinook Aski) today called on Elections Canada to ensure that First Nation evacuees have the right to vote. First Nations in the Interlake region were evacuated from their homes last Sunday following a devastating snowstorm.  Fri, 18 Oct 2019 20:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b0de51eb-d813-4f22-ae30-2cbd6f7cbce5 $700 for Every Canadian: Why Won’t Justin Trudeau Close Tax Havens? https://www.ndp.ca/news/700-every-canadian-why-wont-justin-trudeau-close-tax-havens In June, the independent Parliamentary Budget Office (PBO) found that Canada is losing up to $25 billion in revenue every year from offshore tax havens. That’s nearly $700 for every Canadian. Fri, 18 Oct 2019 10:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e92ef3c6-5f98-4d36-af37-11896c46642b Trudeau Propped Up Harper and Backed Billions in Corporate Tax Cuts https://www.ndp.ca/news/trudeau-propped-harper-and-backed-billions-corporate-tax-cuts Lately, Justin Trudeau has been working overtime to convince Canadians he was part of a “progressive opposition” to Stephen Harper. But Trudeau’s record at the time shows he was not so progressive and he didn’t do all that much opposing. Wed, 16 Oct 2019 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 0f9a5157-a7a8-438b-ac1c-a64d18b21e11 Singh Highlights Shared Values In Jack Layton’s Birthplace https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-highlights-shared-values-jack-laytons-birthplace   Wed, 16 Oct 2019 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 48a7d6bf-7cc9-47aa-bb50-87b7ef7e01c8 Singh to Trudeau: Why Are You Letting Multimillionaires Off the Hook? https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-trudeau-why-are-you-letting-multimillionaires-hook Yesterday, Jagmeet Singh challenged Justin Trudeau on why he won't tax the super-rich to pay for services Canadians badly need. Wed, 16 Oct 2019 09:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 59aa1715-3771-4ad9-81ab-19d56934a523 What Does “Progressive” Mean to Justin Trudeau? https://www.ndp.ca/news/what-does-progressive-mean-justin-trudeau Purchasing a pipeline  Refusing to put a wealth tax on multimillionaires  Offering subsidies to fossil fuel companies  Giving open-door access to lobbyists   Refusing Pharmacare to Canadians  Enriching top CEOs by protecting the stock option loophole  Stopping Indigenous children from getting compensation Standing by top cabinet members who use tax havens Implementing $14 billion in corporate giveaways Violating ethics rules to help corporate insiders  Erasing $6 billion in loans for big corporations  Tue, 15 Oct 2019 19:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4a42f807-0188-485c-896e-9772b8edacf8 Singh Challenges Trudeau on Super-Wealth Tax https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-challenges-trudeau-super-wealth-tax This morning, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh called out Justin Trudeau for rejecting a wealth tax on multimillionaires with fortunes over $20 million:   Tue, 15 Oct 2019 17:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 2b7841ba-00c7-47dc-a390-90e6e11ad070 Trudeau Refuses to Save New Brunswick’s Only Abortion Clinic https://www.ndp.ca/news/trudeau-refuses-save-new-brunswicks-only-abortion-clinic Last week, New Brunswick’s only standalone abortion clinic announced that it is closing because of the province’s ongoing refusal to cover the cost of surgical abortion services outside of hospitals - a clear violation of the Canada Health Act.   Tue, 15 Oct 2019 14:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3ddf1d80-cfd7-4187-8bff-e62415bfc8f8 Why Won’t Justin Trudeau Support a Wealth Tax? https://www.ndp.ca/news/why-wont-justin-trudeau-support-wealth-tax-0 Justin Trudeau likes to talk about the wealthy paying their share – but his platform does nothing to make them actually do that. Mon, 14 Oct 2019 17:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 8eb9a640-6b84-4fb4-a4f7-3c1ee1afec6b Justin Trudeau Thinks Multimillionaires Pay Enough Taxes https://www.ndp.ca/news/justin-trudeau-thinks-multimillionaires-pay-enough-taxes In 2015, Justin Trudeau said that wealthy families like his should pay more taxes.   Sun, 13 Oct 2019 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq a0c52722-8d03-4a23-aa13-d70788c3f5ec Singh Rocks Surrey https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-rocks-surrey   Sun, 13 Oct 2019 13:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 782fbe61-a7e7-47ab-9b67-857415ebc391 From Brampton to Nunavut, Singh Encourages People to Get to the Polls https://www.ndp.ca/news/brampton-nunavut-singh-encourages-people-get-polls   Sat, 12 Oct 2019 15:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3922bdb4-7eca-4acd-a324-43300db2cf7e TMX: Liberal Candidate Fought It, Trudeau Bought It https://www.ndp.ca/news/tmx-liberal-candidate-fought-it-trudeau-bought-it Days before Justin Trudeau bought the Trans Mountain pipeline in 2018, his future candidate in Vancouver East called out the Liberals for forging ahead with the project despite “the absence of sound science.”  Fri, 11 Oct 2019 20:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 6a98fadb-3827-4bf4-95a9-ddb38bbece70 NDP Lays Out Fiscal Plan For Pharmacare, Dental Care, More Affordability for Families https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-lays-out-fiscal-plan-pharmacare-dental-care-more-affordability-families OTTAWA – With the NDP’s New Deal for People, families will get the medicine and dental care they need, lower cell phone bills, homes they can afford, an end to interest on student loans, and concrete advances on the climate crisis. And to pay for it, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh and the NDP will stop letting the super-wealthy get away with not paying their fair share of taxes. Fri, 11 Oct 2019 08:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3a7da4cd-79f7-46e8-a274-7c2f1e5c2ed3 Trudeau’s Refusal to Act Leads to Closure of Sole Abortion Clinic in Fredericton https://www.ndp.ca/news/trudeaus-refusal-act-leads-closure-sole-abortion-clinic-fredericton As Justin Trudeau campaigns on abortion, his refusal to enforce the Canada Health Act has led directly to the closure of New Brunswick’s only freestanding abortion clinic.   Thu, 10 Oct 2019 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 19f99af8-ff47-4478-a931-d4d1ca01d694 Singh Lays Out Priorities For Canadians https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-lays-out-priorities-canadians Pharmacare and dental care, affordable homes, student debt, climate, cell phone bills and super-wealth tax  OTTAWA – With momentum on Jagmeet Singh’s side, the NDP Leader laid out urgent priorities he said the government must take on to help Canadians and vowed to fight for these priorities regardless of the outcome of the election.  Thu, 10 Oct 2019 09:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 0a5dbcef-e7f6-4a75-af2a-bf48a2b473e1 56 of Canada’s 100 Richest Families Donate to Liberals https://www.ndp.ca/news/56-canadas-100-richest-families-donate-liberals Canadian Business Magazine ranks Canada’s 100 richest families, all of whom are worth at least $1 billion. Wed, 09 Oct 2019 11:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq dcec3b7d-f62e-4177-a2de-b9847f9009e3 NDP Statement on the occasion of Yom Kippur https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-occasion-yom-kippur-1 Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Tue, 08 Oct 2019 21:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 2640697f-4862-46db-82cc-7742f8eb46e4