Canada’s NDP » Newsroom https://www.ndp.ca/rss.xml en Report Confirms Liberal Failure to Lift Canadian Children out of Poverty https://www.ndp.ca/news/report-confirms-liberal-failure-lift-canadian-children-out-poverty WINNIPEG – Campaign 2000’s most recent report reveals that the Liberal government's refusal to act on measures like pharmacare and a national childcare program has left over one million children still living in poverty across the country.  Tue, 14 Jan 2020 21:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9ae5fb3d-6bd6-4a75-9c83-de820484ea2f NDP STATEMENT ON REVELATIONS ABOUT THE UKRAINIAN  FLIGHT 752 TRAGEDY https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-revelations-about-ukrainian-flight-752-tragedy Today, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement on the most recent revelations about the Ukrainian Flight 752 tragedy:  Sun, 12 Jan 2020 21:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq c399268a-7f17-406e-a546-b57826824cf7 NDP Statement on the Passing of John Crosbie  https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-passing-john-crosbie NDP MP Jack Harris (St. John's East) made the following statement: Fri, 10 Jan 2020 19:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 88c8defe-d141-4a58-8305-cc60e79efd84 NDP Statement on Developing Situation in the Middle East https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-developing-situation-middle-east Today, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement about the developing situation in the Middle East:  Wed, 08 Jan 2020 15:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4dd167b7-1837-409b-85df-4d8008927cbf Canadian Workers Shouldn’t Have to Rely on American Politicians to Protect their Jobs https://www.ndp.ca/news/canadian-workers-shouldnt-have-rely-american-politicians-protect-their-jobs NDP calls on Liberals to work together to improve trade transparency and get better deals instead of with Conservatives to keep the status quo Tue, 17 Dec 2019 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 778ee384-d29a-4708-8bee-02ba5e4bdcf0 Liberals and conservatives reject plan to put Canadians first https://www.ndp.ca/news/liberals-and-conservatives-reject-plan-put-canadians-first OTTAWA — Last night, the Liberals teamed up with the Conservatives and Bloc Quebecois to vote down and reject the NDP plan to make parliament deliver for Canadians. Fri, 13 Dec 2019 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 98616377-054f-4b6d-9199-b582c2da3485 Small changes to government tax plan would make a big difference for millions of Canadians https://www.ndp.ca/news/small-changes-government-tax-plan-would-make-big-difference-millions-canadians OTTAWA – This morning, NDP Finance Critic Peter Julian (New Westminster—Burnaby) and Health Critic Don Davies (Vancouver Kingsway) outlined the NDP proposal for small changes to the Liberals’ planned tax that would focus on the great help – including dental care – for middle class families and those who really need it. Mon, 09 Dec 2019 17:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 71e8d319-d452-4f98-a0e0-254f951dfebf NDP Statement on the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-day-remembrance-and-action-onviolence-against-women Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Fri, 06 Dec 2019 10:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4e39bf74-a560-4388-951b-9a949bb1ea15 Trudeau Must Keep Election Promise and Deliver Treatment Centre for Grassy Narrows https://www.ndp.ca/news/trudeau-must-keep-election-promise-and-deliver-treatment-centre-grassy-narrows OTTAWA — On Tuesday, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh stood with National Chief Perry Bellegarde of the Assembly of First Nations, Ontario Regional Chief Roseanne Archibald, and Chief Rudy Turtle of Grassy Narrows First Nation, to join in their calls for Justin Trudeau to keep his promise to help the people of Grassy Narrows. Tue, 03 Dec 2019 13:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3eb1d1c9-39ae-464f-8e57-998ff8eda6a5 Singh Visits Iqaluit, Calls for Urgent Climate Action https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-visits-iqaluit-calls-urgent-climate-action Tougher targets and community investment are key Sun, 01 Dec 2019 17:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq aa349d44-a739-46f5-8826-346b1938ab32 MP Taylor Bachrach Named NDP Critic for Infrastructure and Communities https://www.ndp.ca/news/mp-taylor-bachrach-named-ndp-critic-infrastructure-and-communities OTTAWA– Today, while speaking at the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh announced that he has named MP Taylor Bachrach (Skeena—Bulkley Valley) as Critic for Infrastructure and Communities in the NDP Shadow Cabinet. Wed, 27 Nov 2019 17:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 888b98c8-16cc-4d99-a13d-cf91eea1f896 Jagmeet Singh Announces NDP Leadership Roles in the House https://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-announces-ndp-leadership-roles-house MP Peter Julian Named House Leader and MP Rachel Blaney Named Whip Sat, 23 Nov 2019 14:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e470b614-190f-44ed-bda9-8fa03831d799 Trudeau shuffles cabinet, changes little https://www.ndp.ca/news/trudeau-shuffles-cabinet-changes-little More than new ministers, Liberals need to change who they're working for: Singh Wed, 20 Nov 2019 15:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b6a7199c-be0a-4064-a5a6-c7b3dfacbcb4 CF-18 Replacements: Liberal Ministers Will Be Held Accountable https://www.ndp.ca/news/cf-18-replacements-liberal-ministers-will-be-held-accountable OTTAWA – Regardless of which company wins the CF-18 fighter replacement contract, Trudeau’s Liberal government must make sure there are job guarantees for aerospace workers here in Canada and strong economic benefits for the Canadian public, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh said at a press conference today with NDP Deputy Leader Alexandre Boulerice and Yvon Paiement from the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW). Wed, 13 Nov 2019 13:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 43d6dd00-10ac-4b19-ba73-11102975fb90 Statement on the 550th Celebration of Gurpurab of Guru Nanak Sahib Ji https://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-550th-celebration-gurpurab-guru-nanak-sahib-ji A statement by Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada's NDP: Tue, 12 Nov 2019 09:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b751e85f-3bd6-4e7a-b788-39b0cd79a317 NDP Statement on Remembrance Day https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-remembrance-day-2 Today we honour the sacrifices made by Canadians who fought in service of our country overseas and here at home. Mon, 11 Nov 2019 08:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq fe37a339-7003-4639-b096-bc0d3e1c3e52 NDP Statement on the Remembrance of the 1984 Sikh Genocide https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-remembrance-1984-sikh-genocide Today, the NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Fri, 01 Nov 2019 17:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 5c75e1b4-04cb-4514-afc0-b1efd6b6cc58 NDP Calls on Trudeau to Deliver Treatment Centre for Grassy Narrows https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-trudeau-deliver-treatment-centre-grassy-narrows NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Mon, 28 Oct 2019 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3a355f12-62d7-4d93-b0be-aa6d0078ff6f NDP Statement on B.C. Tabling Historic Bill to Implement the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-bc-tabling-historic-bill-implement-un-declaration-rights-indigenous-peoples NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Thu, 24 Oct 2019 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f8531751-aefb-4c73-89a4-12dfaf67b61f NDP Statement Following Call with Alberta NDP Leader Rachel Notley https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-following-call-alberta-ndp-leader-rachel-notley NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh released the following statement: Thu, 24 Oct 2019 10:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f34fcd16-fd45-4c35-860f-dcdf8b94d03c Statement from NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh on an Inspiring Campaign  https://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-ndp-leader-jagmeet-singh-inspiring-campaign NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Mon, 21 Oct 2019 23:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 047e6cc5-d495-4b11-b756-209dc7c86de6 Fact Check: Andrew Scheer’s Lies  https://www.ndp.ca/news/fact-check-andrew-scheers-lies Trying to keep up with the stuff Andrew Scheer is making up is exhausting. It’s way easier to just list the things he said today that are actually true:   Sat, 19 Oct 2019 17:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq bd54509e-97c4-440d-8137-e93489ba7eae Fact Check: Justin Trudeau’s Dodged Questions  https://www.ndp.ca/news/fact-check-justin-trudeaus-dodged-questions It’s impossible to keep track of how many direct questions from reporters that Justin Trudeau has dodged. It’s simpler to just list the straight answers he gave today:  Sat, 19 Oct 2019 16:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 7f682d12-3fdf-4d15-8c7e-6a62ceb88567 Statement on the Hunger Strike in Kanesatake https://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-hunger-strike-kanesatake Statement by NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh following his phone conversation with Ellen Gabriel of the Mohawk community of Kanesatake: Sat, 19 Oct 2019 11:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b7bb6b7a-51d0-4839-8359-f15e7954b7d9 NDP Demands Elections Canada Ensure First Nations Evacuees' Right to Vote  https://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-demands-elections-canada-ensure-first-nations-evacuees-right-vote THE PAS - NDP candidate and incumbent Niki Ashton (Churchill--Keewatinook Aski) today called on Elections Canada to ensure that First Nation evacuees have the right to vote. First Nations in the Interlake region were evacuated from their homes last Sunday following a devastating snowstorm.  Fri, 18 Oct 2019 20:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b0de51eb-d813-4f22-ae30-2cbd6f7cbce5 $700 for Every Canadian: Why Won’t Justin Trudeau Close Tax Havens? https://www.ndp.ca/news/700-every-canadian-why-wont-justin-trudeau-close-tax-havens In June, the independent Parliamentary Budget Office (PBO) found that Canada is losing up to $25 billion in revenue every year from offshore tax havens. That’s nearly $700 for every Canadian. Fri, 18 Oct 2019 10:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e92ef3c6-5f98-4d36-af37-11896c46642b Trudeau Propped Up Harper and Backed Billions in Corporate Tax Cuts https://www.ndp.ca/news/trudeau-propped-harper-and-backed-billions-corporate-tax-cuts Lately, Justin Trudeau has been working overtime to convince Canadians he was part of a “progressive opposition” to Stephen Harper. But Trudeau’s record at the time shows he was not so progressive and he didn’t do all that much opposing. Wed, 16 Oct 2019 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 0f9a5157-a7a8-438b-ac1c-a64d18b21e11 Singh Highlights Shared Values In Jack Layton’s Birthplace https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-highlights-shared-values-jack-laytons-birthplace   Wed, 16 Oct 2019 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 48a7d6bf-7cc9-47aa-bb50-87b7ef7e01c8 Singh to Trudeau: Why Are You Letting Multimillionaires Off the Hook? https://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-trudeau-why-are-you-letting-multimillionaires-hook Yesterday, Jagmeet Singh challenged Justin Trudeau on why he won't tax the super-rich to pay for services Canadians badly need. Wed, 16 Oct 2019 09:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 59aa1715-3771-4ad9-81ab-19d56934a523 What Does “Progressive” Mean to Justin Trudeau? https://www.ndp.ca/news/what-does-progressive-mean-justin-trudeau Purchasing a pipeline  Refusing to put a wealth tax on multimillionaires  Offering subsidies to fossil fuel companies  Giving open-door access to lobbyists   Refusing Pharmacare to Canadians  Enriching top CEOs by protecting the stock option loophole  Stopping Indigenous children from getting compensation Standing by top cabinet members who use tax havens Implementing $14 billion in corporate giveaways Violating ethics rules to help corporate insiders  Erasing $6 billion in loans for big corporations  Tue, 15 Oct 2019 19:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4a42f807-0188-485c-896e-9772b8edacf8