Canada’s NDP » Newsroom http://www.ndp.ca/rss.xml en NDP Statement on National Indigenous Peoples Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-indigenous-peoples-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 21 Jun 2018 07:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 5e927ad9-1227-487e-8dda-27d21199f307 NDP Statement on World Refugee Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-refugee-day-1 Jagmeet Singh, Leaders of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 20 Jun 2018 14:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9f6af639-2473-43ef-b8df-e9a9be0ae7a4 NDP Calls for Reform of Indigenous Women's Treatment in Justice System  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-reform-indigenous-womens-treatment-justice-system OTTAWA – The NDP Women’s Equality Critic, Sheila Malcolmson, urged the Liberal government to immediately reform treatment of Indigenous women in Canada’s justice and corrections systems. The recommendations in the Standing Committee on the Status of Women’s report tabled Tuesday failed to fully reflect the cycle of injustice, poverty, physical, psychological and sexual violence that Indigenous women disproportionately experience. In response, the NDP submitted a supplementary report entitled "Need for Federal Leadership to Reform Indigenous Women’s Treatment in Canada’s Justice and Correctional Systems”. Tue, 19 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 517d14f7-520e-4aa0-9913-7777ede5c3e0 NDP: Canada Must End Child Poverty http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-canada-must-end-child-poverty OTTAWA – Almost 30 years ago, the House of Commons passed an NDP motion to eliminate child poverty in Canada. To this day, a shockingly high percentage of Canadian children still live below the poverty line. A report from Campaign 2000 has revealed the current levels of child poverty in Canada, including a rate of 40% of children living in poverty in the riding of Toronto Centre, held by the millionaire Finance Minister, Bill Morneau. Mon, 18 Jun 2018 17:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f4c94893-d87c-4fae-a2bb-1f333619f9ea NDP Calls for Hearing on GMO Wheat Discovery http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-hearing-gmo-wheat-discovery OTTAWA – Yesterday, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) released a statement announcing the discovery of unauthorized genetically modified wheat plants along a roadside in Alberta. The CFIA has revealed that they were not able to determine the source of these plants, but there was no other evidence of genetically modified wheat in the area and no risks to food safety. This morning, Japan announced the suspension of the sale of Canadian wheat pending further investigation. The NDP is calling for an immediate hearing to learn more about this issue. Fri, 15 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 2bb56fb3-80b3-4ad7-a131-4e64df610f9f NDP Statement on World Elder Abuse Awareness Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-elder-abuse-awareness-day NDP Seniors Critic Rachel Blaney (North Island – Powell River) made the following statement on World Elder Abuse Awareness Day: Fri, 15 Jun 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq ccd8420e-c6a7-49d2-ae03-030522dd3bdd NDP Statement on Eid al-Fitr http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-eid-al-fitr-1 Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement Thu, 14 Jun 2018 20:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 727d2388-2bf6-45bc-b56a-fc786b548df1 NDP Statement on World Blood Donor Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-blood-donor-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 14 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq d9eefcef-669e-4a12-87e1-0c763d1ab6ca NDP Calls on Liberals to Remove Barriers to Women’s Economic Justice Now http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-liberals-remove-barriers-womens-economic-justice-now OTTAWA – The NDP Women’s Equality Critic and Deputy Critic, Sheila Malcolmson and Anne Minh-Thu Quach, urged the Liberal government to adopt deeper measures to end women’s economic insecurity. In response to the Standing Committee on the Status of Women’s report tabled today, the NDP submitted a supplementary report titled "Actions to Improve Women's Economic Security and Remove Barriers to Economic Justice for Women in Canada." Thu, 14 Jun 2018 15:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 7ee336ee-41f5-4ea3-b0ad-a68b907c1228 NDP: The CPTPP Trade Deal Will Cost Canada Tens of Thousands of Jobs http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-cptpp-trade-deal-will-cost-canada-tens-thousands-jobs The implementing legislation for the Trans-Pacific Partnership was tabled today despite overwhelming evidence that this trade deal is a betrayal to Canadian workers, the manufacturing sector, and our supply management system. The CPTPP will put 58 000 Canadian jobs at risk and jeopardize both the auto industry and supply managed sectors. The NDP urges the Liberal government to put workers first during this difficult time and not accept this trade deal, which has a weak economic forecast according to the government’s own impact analysis.  Thu, 14 Jun 2018 14:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 767dc538-95cc-4f72-acb1-5b98b641f5a6 Statement from Charlie Angus on the Conflict of Interest Commissioner's Reports http://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-charlie-angus-conflict-interest-commissioners-reports NDP MP Charlie Angus (Timmins—James Bay) issued the following statement: Thu, 14 Jun 2018 10:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b607a9fc-ba85-4219-8553-e0723c7b54fe NDP Statement on World Day Against Child Labour http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-day-against-child-labour Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 13 Jun 2018 17:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1bb83990-49b0-48b3-a48b-bb2a500f77cf NDP Calls on Government to Protect Nuclear Workers' Pensions  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-government-protect-nuclear-workers-pensions OTTAWA – Today, NDP MP Daniel Blaikie (Elmwood—Transcona) and members of unions representing workers from federal nuclear plants are delivering over 1000 letters to the President of the Treasury Board. These letters are from workers protesting their removal from their pension plan. The NDP is calling on the government to reverse this decision and protect the pensions of these workers. Tue, 12 Jun 2018 14:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b3b3a794-b0ec-4821-a404-371a4da070ec NDP Presents a Clear Vision for the Environment and Economy http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-presents-clear-vision-environment-and-economy On Tuesday, the NDP tabled a motion in the House of Commons which spells out how Canada can become a global leader in the fight against climate change as the rate and intensity of severe weather increases across the country. Tue, 12 Jun 2018 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 71fc371f-1929-4285-ba5f-edf819d26cb3 NDP Statement on National Public Service Week http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-public-service-week-0 Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 11 Jun 2018 19:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e4ac69c0-8534-4828-bad8-a288c0539537 NDP Statement on the National Day of Healing and Reconciliation http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-day-healing-and-reconciliation Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP issued the following statement: Mon, 11 Jun 2018 18:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3db351f7-0a1c-407c-aa3e-2328c74045fb NDP Statement on the 34th anniversary of the 1984 Golden Temple Invasion: http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-34th-anniversary-1984-golden-temple-invasion Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 11 Jun 2018 16:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 98feaf82-9669-4036-bda3-e9820223d496 NDP: Oceans Plastics Charter Misses the Mark http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-oceans-plastics-charter-misses-mark NDP MP Gord Johns (Courtenay-Alberni) and NDP Fisheries and Oceans Critic Fin Donnelly (Port Moody-Coquitlam) have criticized Canada's proposed Oceans Plastic Charter as it fails to respond to Canadians’ calls for action, and lacks concrete steps that will effectively address the root causes of plastic pollution. Mon, 11 Jun 2018 14:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq d8b8d684-4b7a-4532-982b-889850a1cf08 NDP: Liberals Must Withdraw Arms Trade Treaty bill http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-liberals-must-withdraw-arms-trade-treaty-bill OTTAWA – NDP Foreign Affairs Critic Hélène Laverdière (Laurier- Sainte-Marie) today called on the Trudeau government to withdraw its legislation on the Arms Trade Treaty, in order to work with the NDP and experts on a bill that would fully respect the Treaty. A vote is expected today to send the bill to the Senate.  Mon, 11 Jun 2018 11:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 29e918e9-ae27-4370-a0b8-4b5859103bb4 NDP Statement on World Oceans Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-oceans-day-1 NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement Fri, 08 Jun 2018 19:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 90a95532-28f3-4b25-b581-c969769ca886 The NDP Calls for a Moratorium on the Sale and Production of Genetically Modified Animals http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-moratorium-sale-and-production-genetically-modified-animals OTTAWA – Recent revelations in Maclean’s magazine, about two seafood import companies selling genetically modified salmon to Quebec and Ontario retailers, are spreading alarm among Canadian consumers. In response, the NDP is calling on the Liberal government to impose a moratorium on the sale and production of genetically modified animals. Thu, 07 Jun 2018 16:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq aa273df5-1f3f-469c-923b-08dddcd60b12 NDP Statement on Vietnamese Prime Minister Invitation to G7 http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-vietnamese-prime-minister-invitation-g7 NDP MP Anne Minh-Thu Quach (Salaberry-Suroît) made the following statement: Thu, 07 Jun 2018 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 76dc8ada-e7e1-48e4-9a38-0982d49eeac2 NDP: Canada Post Must Face Scrutiny on Private Partnerships http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-canada-post-must-face-scrutiny-private-partnerships According to a press release from the Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association (CPAA), Canada Post has quietly been building partnerships with private financial technology (fintech) companies. The NDP supports a postal banking system that is operated as a public service. Certain Canada Post locations now allow people to access banking services delivered by private companies such as Scotiabank-owned Tangerine and Paytm, a bill payment mobile app. Thu, 07 Jun 2018 12:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 5dbe1bf3-2c2e-4b81-bef8-c4fcb7684fa8 NDP Statement on the 74th Anniversary of D-Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-74th-anniversary-d-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada's NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 06 Jun 2018 22:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq dd0f7cbb-c290-49ce-bd3a-3510f85b2f01 Canadians Want Liberal Government to Take Real Action on Plastic in Our Oceans http://www.ndp.ca/news/canadians-want-liberal-government-take-real-action-plastic-our-oceans OTTAWA – Today, NDP MP Gord Johns (Courtenay-Alberni) delivered a petition to the office of the Minister of Environment and Climate Change just days ahead of the G7 meeting in Quebec. The petition, hosted online by SumOfUs, has been signed by over 105,000 Canadians in support of Johns’ motion, M-151: a national strategy to combat plastic pollution in our aquatic environments. Tue, 05 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 674395e2-1c07-4f5d-80d4-f7f47c0c576f Plastic Pollution is a Global Crisis: NDP Statement on World Environment Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/plastic-pollution-global-crisis-ndp-statement-world-environment-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement on World Environment Day: Tue, 05 Jun 2018 15:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq a4515529-b0c4-4313-9900-59e93e79933c NDP to Introduce Bill on Mandatory Minimum Sentences  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-introduce-bill-mandatory-minimum-sentences OTTAWA – This morning, Sheri Benson, MP for Saskatoon West, introduced a bill drafted in collaboration with students that seeks to restore the independence of the judiciary by allowing trial judges to deviate from mandatory minimum sentences. The bill will give trial judges greater discretion in sentencing as long as they provide valid reasoning. The bill is also in response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Call to Action #32, which calls "upon the federal government to amend the Criminal Code to allow trial judges, upon giving reasons, to depart from mandatory minimum sentences and restrictions on the use of conditional sentences." Tue, 05 Jun 2018 13:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4791e930-3b56-45bd-a623-27587e02d8d1 NDP Statement on Sexual Abuse in Sport http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-sexual-abuse-sport NPD Critic for Sport, Cheryl Hardcastle, made the following statement: Mon, 04 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 411ba8f7-7a8f-4289-9a60-e6c648a89222 NDP: Liberals Must Strengthen Financial Accountability on $7 Billion of Spending  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-liberals-must-strengthen-financial-accountability-7-billion-spending OTTAWA – Today, NDP Treasury Board Critic Daniel Blaikie will serve notice of over 200 motions at the Government Operations and Estimates committee; one for each questionable item in Treasury Board Vote 40. The new and unprecedented mechanism, usually referred to as “Vote 40”, would grant over $7 billion to the government for new spending without meaningful parliamentary oversight. Mon, 04 Jun 2018 15:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 7944e5fe-17c2-4601-949f-23bee1a88781 NDP Challenges Liberals to Reconcile Respect for Indigenous Peoples with Kinder Morgan Buyout http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-challenges-liberals-reconcile-respect-indigenous-peoples-kinder-morgan-buyout NDP Reconciliation Critic, Romeo Saganash tabled a motion on Monday to have MPs vote to reaffirm their support for the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in light of the Liberals’ decision to purchase the Kinder Morgan pipeline expansion project with taxpayer money. UNDRIP includes the right to “free, prior and informed consent” prior to any project affecting their lands or territories and other resources, including the Trans Mountain pipeline expansion the Liberals have promised to build. Mon, 04 Jun 2018 13:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 6c067acf-0041-4a0f-81c4-7d3a4702a72e