Canada’s NDP » Newsroom http://www.ndp.ca/rss.xml en NDP calls for strong government leadership on Canada Parks Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-strong-government-leadership-canada-parks-day NDP National Parks Critic, Wayne Stetski (Kootenay–Columbia), made the following statement in honour of Canada Parks Day 2018: Sat, 21 Jul 2018 08:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 63595b9a-7623-48ed-8504-fad6703fe44b NDP: The TPP Would Decimate the Canadian Manufacturing Sector http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-tpp-would-decimate-canadian-manufacturing-sector OTTAWA – At a time when the Trump administration is threatening to implement devastating auto tariffs, both the Conservatives and Liberals are championing a trade deal that would put 58 000 Canadian jobs at risk. Conservative Party leader Andrew Scheer has asked to recall the House of Commons in order to ram through the TPP trade deal, which would decimate the industries already endangered by Trump’s outrageous tariffs. Thu, 19 Jul 2018 13:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq fdc72002-d2c1-4036-a50c-5e77f798285c NDP MP Christine Moore cleared of misconduct allegations following investigation http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-mp-christine-moore-cleared-misconduct-allegations-following-investigation MONTREAL – On Thursday, the Leader of the NDP Jagmeet Singh announced that an independent investigation has cleared NDP MP Christine Moore of misconduct allegations.   Thu, 19 Jul 2018 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4a31a9bb-fae3-4c52-b71a-988040562147 NDP Statement on Nelson Mandela International Day – for Freedom, Justice and Democracy http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-nelson-mandela-international-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 18 Jul 2018 20:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 30331355-3421-4244-9323-86e0fd623114 NDP: The Creation of a New Minister alone doesn't help asylum seekers http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-creation-new-minister-alone-doesnt-help-asylum-seekers OTTAWA – The NDP says today’s appointment of a new minister to deal with asylum seekers does not solve the problems perpetuated by the Liberals’ refusal to change its policy on the Safe Third Country Agreement with the United States and adequately support asylum seekers. Wed, 18 Jul 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b0bc46d2-6f7e-43d1-a572-f2f2465bb9f8 NDP Statement on Imamat Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-imamat-day Jagmeet Singh, Leaders of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 11 Jul 2018 15:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 802ed275-7e44-4a5d-a60a-0e3eaf7311f4 Singh Urges Trudeau to Save Greyhound Bus Routes http://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-urges-trudeau-save-greyhound-bus-routes OTTAWA – NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh is urging the Prime Minister to intervene following the announced cancellation of major Greyhound bus routes in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Northwestern Ontario and rural British Columbia. Wed, 11 Jul 2018 11:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9c525885-5c32-4354-9bea-0ea38e3319c4 NDP Calls for Urgent Meeting to Discuss Supports for Asylum Seekers http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-urgent-meeting-discuss-supports-asylum-seekers OTTAWA – New Democrats are calling for an emergency meeting of the Immigration and Refugee Committee to discuss the lack of support for the growing number of asylum seekers crossing the border from the United States. Wed, 11 Jul 2018 10:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9bf10f97-ca22-4613-a2f7-82a25bef8d57 5 Things You Need to Know About the Kinder Morgan Trans Mountain Pipeline http://www.ndp.ca/news/kinder-morgan-NDP-en 1) In May of 2018, despite strong opposition from First Nations, local communities, scientists, and environmentalists, Justin Trudeau and the Liberal government spent $4.5 billion of public dollars to purchase the Trans Mountain Pipeline. Tue, 10 Jul 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f829aefc-b02b-4ba3-953c-dc82445000a9 NDP Statement on the 5th Anniversary of the Lac Mégantic tragedy http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-5th-anniversary-lac-megantic-tragedy Jagmeet Singh, Leaders of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Fri, 06 Jul 2018 10:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b604fa64-b312-4154-85b0-127cff669730 NDP Statement on Suicide Bombing Targeting Sikh and Hindu Communities in Afghanistan http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-suicide-bombing-targeting-sikh-and-hindu-communities-afghanistan NDP International Human Rights Critic Cheryl Hardcastle issued the following statement today regarding  a  terrorist attack targeting Sikh and Hindu minorities in Afghanistan: Wed, 04 Jul 2018 15:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 06629b3b-01b6-4b56-b78a-cd1d4de7d1d3 NDP Statement on Canada Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-canada-day-0 Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Sun, 01 Jul 2018 01:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 5d6b26b7-161e-4ace-9ead-ca6d18202847 NDP Welcomes Steel and Aluminum Package as a First Step to Support Workers http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-welcomes-steel-and-aluminum-package-first-step-support-workers OTTAWA –  After weeks of the NDP calling for support for metal workers, the federal government finally unveiled its list of retaliatory tariffs and support package for steel and aluminum workers on Friday. The NDP welcomes these measures as a positive first step, but New Democrats believe that more must be done to protect Canadian jobs. Fri, 29 Jun 2018 12:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 05179663-6796-4ef0-ae86-6d9c65715952 NDP Strongly Supports the Independence of the Immigration and Refugee Board  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-strongly-supports-independence-immigration-and-refugee-board Jenny Kwan, NDP Critic for Multiculturalism, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, issued the following statement: Wed, 27 Jun 2018 17:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 8a6baf27-45fe-4ae6-9451-1aaeb0528899 NDP Statement on Multiculturalism Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-canadian-multiculturalism-day-2018 Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 27 Jun 2018 13:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 0bb33e08-f414-4809-a0a1-14056f60044b NDP: Workers are Paying the Price of Trade Uncertainty http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-workers-are-paying-price-trade-uncertainty OTTAWA – The House of Commons Trade Committee had an emergency meeting in Ottawa on Tuesday to discuss US-Canada trade uncertainty. In the meeting, NDP International Trade Critic Tracey Ramsey focused on how the government can protect Canadian workers from President Trump’s current steel and aluminum tariffs and looming threats of auto tariffs. Tue, 26 Jun 2018 13:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 55f69c0b-75e4-4ddc-b3af-6e0285793899 NDP statement on la Fête nationale du Québec and Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-la-fete-nationale-du-quebec-and-saint-jean-baptiste-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement:  Sun, 24 Jun 2018 07:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 94704d55-114f-4b16-89b6-0d3046ee6d30 Protecting Quebec culture is a priority for New Democrats http://www.ndp.ca/news/protecting-quebec-culture-priority-new-democrats Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada's NDP, issued the following statement: Sat, 23 Jun 2018 15:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq de3f2736-6d6d-4fcc-b90a-c77fcb635ccd NDP Statement marking the National Day of Remembrance for Victims of Terrorism http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-marking-national-day-remembrance-victims-terrorism Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP issued the following statement:  Sat, 23 Jun 2018 12:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 0dcd20c8-2b32-4d5c-9489-01acb4b33e7a Statement by Romeo Saganash regarding the comments made by Minister Barrette http://www.ndp.ca/news/statement-romeo-saganash-regarding-comments-made-minister-barrette NDP Reconciliation Critic, Romeo Saganash, issued the following statement: Fri, 22 Jun 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 6939b7c5-7b52-4906-a27a-9964410b638d NDP Statement on National Indigenous Peoples Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-indigenous-peoples-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 21 Jun 2018 07:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 5e927ad9-1227-487e-8dda-27d21199f307 NDP Statement on World Refugee Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-refugee-day-1 Jagmeet Singh, Leaders of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 20 Jun 2018 14:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9f6af639-2473-43ef-b8df-e9a9be0ae7a4 NDP Calls for Reform of Indigenous Women's Treatment in Justice System  http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-reform-indigenous-womens-treatment-justice-system OTTAWA – The NDP Women’s Equality Critic, Sheila Malcolmson, urged the Liberal government to immediately reform treatment of Indigenous women in Canada’s justice and corrections systems. The recommendations in the Standing Committee on the Status of Women’s report tabled Tuesday failed to fully reflect the cycle of injustice, poverty, physical, psychological and sexual violence that Indigenous women disproportionately experience. In response, the NDP submitted a supplementary report entitled "Need for Federal Leadership to Reform Indigenous Women’s Treatment in Canada’s Justice and Correctional Systems”. Tue, 19 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 517d14f7-520e-4aa0-9913-7777ede5c3e0 NDP: Canada Must End Child Poverty http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-canada-must-end-child-poverty OTTAWA – Almost 30 years ago, the House of Commons passed an NDP motion to eliminate child poverty in Canada. To this day, a shockingly high percentage of Canadian children still live below the poverty line. A report from Campaign 2000 has revealed the current levels of child poverty in Canada, including a rate of 40% of children living in poverty in the riding of Toronto Centre, held by the millionaire Finance Minister, Bill Morneau. Mon, 18 Jun 2018 17:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f4c94893-d87c-4fae-a2bb-1f333619f9ea NDP Calls for Hearing on GMO Wheat Discovery http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-hearing-gmo-wheat-discovery OTTAWA – Yesterday, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) released a statement announcing the discovery of unauthorized genetically modified wheat plants along a roadside in Alberta. The CFIA has revealed that they were not able to determine the source of these plants, but there was no other evidence of genetically modified wheat in the area and no risks to food safety. This morning, Japan announced the suspension of the sale of Canadian wheat pending further investigation. The NDP is calling for an immediate hearing to learn more about this issue. Fri, 15 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 2bb56fb3-80b3-4ad7-a131-4e64df610f9f NDP Statement on World Elder Abuse Awareness Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-elder-abuse-awareness-day NDP Seniors Critic Rachel Blaney (North Island – Powell River) made the following statement on World Elder Abuse Awareness Day: Fri, 15 Jun 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq ccd8420e-c6a7-49d2-ae03-030522dd3bdd NDP Statement on Eid al-Fitr http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-eid-al-fitr-1 Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement Thu, 14 Jun 2018 20:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 727d2388-2bf6-45bc-b56a-fc786b548df1 NDP Statement on World Blood Donor Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-world-blood-donor-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 14 Jun 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq d9eefcef-669e-4a12-87e1-0c763d1ab6ca NDP Calls on Liberals to Remove Barriers to Women’s Economic Justice Now http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-liberals-remove-barriers-womens-economic-justice-now OTTAWA – The NDP Women’s Equality Critic and Deputy Critic, Sheila Malcolmson and Anne Minh-Thu Quach, urged the Liberal government to adopt deeper measures to end women’s economic insecurity. In response to the Standing Committee on the Status of Women’s report tabled today, the NDP submitted a supplementary report titled "Actions to Improve Women's Economic Security and Remove Barriers to Economic Justice for Women in Canada." Thu, 14 Jun 2018 15:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 7ee336ee-41f5-4ea3-b0ad-a68b907c1228 NDP: The CPTPP Trade Deal Will Cost Canada Tens of Thousands of Jobs http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-cptpp-trade-deal-will-cost-canada-tens-thousands-jobs The implementing legislation for the Trans-Pacific Partnership was tabled today despite overwhelming evidence that this trade deal is a betrayal to Canadian workers, the manufacturing sector, and our supply management system. The CPTPP will put 58 000 Canadian jobs at risk and jeopardize both the auto industry and supply managed sectors. The NDP urges the Liberal government to put workers first during this difficult time and not accept this trade deal, which has a weak economic forecast according to the government’s own impact analysis.  Thu, 14 Jun 2018 14:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 767dc538-95cc-4f72-acb1-5b98b641f5a6