Canada’s NDP » Newsroom http://www.ndp.ca/rss.xml en Liberals continue Harper’s political harassment of charities http://www.ndp.ca/news/liberals-continue-harpers-political-harassment-charities OTTAWA  –  The NDP slammed the Liberals for breaking another promise to end the political harassment against charities, began by the Harper Conservatives. On Wednesday, the Liberal government chose to appeal a court ruling that exonerated these charities. Thu, 16 Aug 2018 10:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 786eb827-3b5d-47f4-8af6-a08898c6ab34 Liberals say they will change Indigenous MP's bill celebrating Indigenous People http://www.ndp.ca/news/liberals-say-they-will-change-indigenous-mps-bill-celebrating-indigenous-people On Wednesday, the Liberals revealed plans to support NDP MP Georgina Jolibois' Private Member's Bill to establish a National Indigenous People's Day. Yet, it is unclear if the Liberals plan to change the intention of Jolibois' bill after a government official told the media that they are considering amendments. Thu, 16 Aug 2018 09:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e9c14f97-9fdd-4a1b-85fb-f31ce98cb0e2 NDP Statement on National Acadian Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-acadian-day-0 Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 15 Aug 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9e13f644-4d33-43d3-909a-1c826da55ec7 NDP statement on Korean Independence Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-korean-independence-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 15 Aug 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 675bc49e-cd22-41b8-9c6f-4358241b7a05 NDP statement on India Independence Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-india-independence-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 15 Aug 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 3f7aa6bb-8f36-4cda-a060-d969ecbb9203 NDP statement on Pakistan’s Independence Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-pakistans-independence-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Tue, 14 Aug 2018 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq e0b6202c-2af0-454c-90a9-af4ab4a29c28 NDP: The Government Must Keep its Promise to Make Housing a Human Right http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-government-must-keep-its-promise-make-housing-human-right OTTAWA  –  In an open letter released on Tuesday, over 170 organizations and prominent Canadians urged the Prime Minister to follow through on his commitment to make housing a human right. The NDP is calling on the Liberal government to address the concerns in the open letter and make housing a right for all Canadians. Tue, 14 Aug 2018 14:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f09bfeb3-b191-45b7-b2a0-0a1b6d43f0c5 NDP Calls for National Task Force on Trade Tariffs http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-national-task-force-trade-tariffs OTTAWA – The NDP is calling on the Liberal government to strike a National Tariff Task Force, focused on defending Canadian jobs in industries targeted by U.S. tariffs, including steel, aluminum, softwood lumber and potentially auto. Tue, 14 Aug 2018 10:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 868959de-38f2-4702-b1cc-c44e87b9eae9 NDP Statement on Davie Shipyard Contract http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-davie-shipyard-contract NDP Parliamentary Leader Guy Caron made the following statement: Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1eabee88-666b-4c22-ace1-9ad50e767ad5 Jagmeet Singh Tours Quebec to Promote Renewable Energy http://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-tours-quebec-promote-renewable-energy OTTAWA – This Sunday, Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, will begin a week-long tour in Quebec. Between August 12th and 19th, Mr. Singh will hear directly from Quebecers and highlight the innovations taking place in Quebec within the renewable energy sector. Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 26f912cf-2309-42cb-a826-b461e8000d85 NDP Statement on National Peacekeepers’ Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-national-peacekeepers-day NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Thu, 09 Aug 2018 12:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 94b2e424-ccb6-415f-8b1d-0a370d032b57 NDP Statement on the International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-international-day-worlds-indigenous-peoples NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh made the following statement: Thu, 09 Aug 2018 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f434635d-1512-4d91-a6bb-754168bb089f NDP Statement on the Centennial of the Battle of Amiens and Canada's Hundred Days http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-centennial-battle-amiens-and-canadas-hundred-days NDP Veterans Affairs Critic, Gord Johns (Courtenay-Alberni), is a member of the official Canadian delegation to France to mark the 100th Anniversary of the Battle of Amiens from August 6-10, 2018, joining international delegations from Australia, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States, and France. Wed, 08 Aug 2018 12:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4c2692c4-2812-4520-bd5e-b00825861f90 NDP: Former Sears Workers Suffer While Board Members Profit http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-former-sears-workers-suffer-while-board-members-profit OTTAWA – After closing hundreds of stores and stripping thousands of workers of their pensions and severance pay, the Sears Canada board has racked up over $2 million in expenses since Sears declared insolvency. The NDP has long called for the protection of pension wages, and NDP Pension Critic Scott Duvall tabled a Private Member's bill to stop large corporations from paying shareholders, banks, and creditors ahead of their employees when filing for bankruptcy protection. Thu, 02 Aug 2018 14:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 414ddc8f-768c-42df-910a-73e388852ba5 NDP Statement on the Annual Commemoration of the Roma and Sinti Genocide http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-annual-commemoration-roma-and-sinti-genocide Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Thu, 02 Aug 2018 12:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 43a4d4aa-2141-4f1b-a7a8-68b39733b510 Jagmeet Singh calls on Trudeau Government to tackle root causes of gun violence & allow cities to ban handguns http://www.ndp.ca/news/jagmeet-singh-calls-trudeau-government-tackle-root-causes-gun-violence-allow-cities-ban OTTAWA – NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh wrote to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau on Thursday urging the government to commit to a long-term approach of addressing the underlying causes of the gun violence in our cities, while at the same time moving quickly on immediate measures such as enabling municipalities to ban handguns. Thu, 02 Aug 2018 10:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1fb599af-45e9-46d9-ac64-c1a6649516a6 NDP Calls for Immediate Action to Address EpiPen Shortage http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-immediate-action-address-epipen-shortage VANCOUVER – On Wednesday, NDP Health Critic Don Davies (Vancouver – Kingsway) called on the Minister of Health to take immediate action to address the EpiPen shortage in Canada. Health Canada has issued a warning that the junior dose will be available in limited supplies only, and the adult dose may not be available at all in August. Wed, 01 Aug 2018 10:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 1fa52003-e86b-4fdf-89fb-a1a3de73fc65 NDP Statement on Korean War Veterans Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-korean-war-veterans-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Fri, 27 Jul 2018 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 391dc53a-8981-48dd-b4ca-b449c4ac7439 NDP Launches Online Communication and Organizing Tool http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-launches-online-communication-and-organizing-tool OTTAWA – On Wednesday, Canada’s NDP launched a new online platform to connect members, supporters, volunteers and staff through the mobile and desktop-based app named Slack. Wed, 25 Jul 2018 13:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 90543524-5bd3-423f-a229-db5228149ab8 NDP Statement on the 35th anniversary of Black July http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-35th-anniversary-black-july Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Mon, 23 Jul 2018 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 45bdd7db-39c9-4256-8f24-2b3de71eda2f NDP calls for strong government leadership on Canada Parks Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-strong-government-leadership-canada-parks-day NDP National Parks Critic, Wayne Stetski (Kootenay–Columbia), made the following statement in honour of Canada Parks Day 2018: Sat, 21 Jul 2018 08:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 63595b9a-7623-48ed-8504-fad6703fe44b NDP: The TPP Would Decimate the Canadian Manufacturing Sector http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-tpp-would-decimate-canadian-manufacturing-sector OTTAWA – At a time when the Trump administration is threatening to implement devastating auto tariffs, both the Conservatives and Liberals are championing a trade deal that would put 58 000 Canadian jobs at risk. Conservative Party leader Andrew Scheer has asked to recall the House of Commons in order to ram through the TPP trade deal, which would decimate the industries already endangered by Trump’s outrageous tariffs. Thu, 19 Jul 2018 13:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq fdc72002-d2c1-4036-a50c-5e77f798285c NDP MP Christine Moore cleared of misconduct allegations following investigation http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-mp-christine-moore-cleared-misconduct-allegations-following-investigation MONTREAL – On Thursday, the Leader of the NDP Jagmeet Singh announced that an independent investigation has cleared NDP MP Christine Moore of misconduct allegations.   Thu, 19 Jul 2018 12:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 4a31a9bb-fae3-4c52-b71a-988040562147 NDP Statement on Nelson Mandela International Day – for Freedom, Justice and Democracy http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-nelson-mandela-international-day Jagmeet Singh, Leader of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 18 Jul 2018 20:15:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 30331355-3421-4244-9323-86e0fd623114 NDP: The Creation of a New Minister alone doesn't help asylum seekers http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-creation-new-minister-alone-doesnt-help-asylum-seekers OTTAWA – The NDP says today’s appointment of a new minister to deal with asylum seekers does not solve the problems perpetuated by the Liberals’ refusal to change its policy on the Safe Third Country Agreement with the United States and adequately support asylum seekers. Wed, 18 Jul 2018 16:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b0bc46d2-6f7e-43d1-a572-f2f2465bb9f8 NDP Statement on Imamat Day http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-imamat-day Jagmeet Singh, Leaders of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Wed, 11 Jul 2018 15:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 802ed275-7e44-4a5d-a60a-0e3eaf7311f4 Singh Urges Trudeau to Save Greyhound Bus Routes http://www.ndp.ca/news/singh-urges-trudeau-save-greyhound-bus-routes OTTAWA – NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh is urging the Prime Minister to intervene following the announced cancellation of major Greyhound bus routes in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Northwestern Ontario and rural British Columbia. Wed, 11 Jul 2018 11:45:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9c525885-5c32-4354-9bea-0ea38e3319c4 NDP Calls for Urgent Meeting to Discuss Supports for Asylum Seekers http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-calls-urgent-meeting-discuss-supports-asylum-seekers OTTAWA – New Democrats are calling for an emergency meeting of the Immigration and Refugee Committee to discuss the lack of support for the growing number of asylum seekers crossing the border from the United States. Wed, 11 Jul 2018 10:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq 9bf10f97-ca22-4613-a2f7-82a25bef8d57 5 Things You Need to Know About the Kinder Morgan Trans Mountain Pipeline http://www.ndp.ca/news/kinder-morgan-NDP-en 1) In May of 2018, despite strong opposition from First Nations, local communities, scientists, and environmentalists, Justin Trudeau and the Liberal government spent $4.5 billion of public dollars to purchase the Trans Mountain Pipeline. Tue, 10 Jul 2018 11:00:00 +0000 @ndp_hq f829aefc-b02b-4ba3-953c-dc82445000a9 NDP Statement on the 5th Anniversary of the Lac Mégantic tragedy http://www.ndp.ca/news/ndp-statement-5th-anniversary-lac-megantic-tragedy Jagmeet Singh, Leaders of Canada’s NDP, issued the following statement: Fri, 06 Jul 2018 10:30:00 +0000 @ndp_hq b604fa64-b312-4154-85b0-127cff669730