March 10th, 2014

Statement by the Official Opposition on the Canadian Screen Awards

Official Opposition Heritage critic Pierre Nantel (Longueuil – Pierre-Boucher) made the following statement after the Canadian Screen Awards gala:

“New Democrats would like to congratulate all Canadian artists who were honoured at last night’s Canadian Screen Awards.

Quebec artists once again took the spotlight, winning in some of the most prestigious categories. Congratulations to director Louise Archambault for her film Gabrielle, which won best feature film of the year; Gabrielle Marion-Rivard, who won the best actress award for her role in the film; and Denis Villeneuve who won five awards for his film Enemy. We would also like to recognize David Cronenberg, who received a lifetime achievement award.

The NDP is also proud of Emanuel Hoss-Desmarais who received the Claude Jutra award the best first feature film award for Whitewash as well as the creators of The Mortal Instruments who won four awards in total.

I’d also like to acknowledge actors Rick Roberts and Sook-Yin Lee who won best actor awards for their roles in Jack—a film about the life of Jack Layton.

The NDP would like to emphasize the importance of supporting Canada’s film and television industry which creates jobs in Canada and drives our identity and culture. We are proud of all Canadian artists who bring national and worldwide acclaim to our film and television industry.”